Kim Michele Richardson - photo Leigh photography

Kim Michele Richardson - photo Leigh photography


~Available at these retailers~

At brick and mortar stores and online and through your local library

When you preorder THE BOOK WOMAN OF TROUBLESOME CREEK from City Lights in Sylva, NC, you can have the book signed and/or PERSONALLY inscribed at no additional charge. They also happily ship!

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

~PRAISE~

“A rare literary adventure that casts librarians as heroes, smart tough women on horseback in rough terrain doing the brave and hard work of getting the right book into the right hands. Richardson has weaved an inspiring tale about the power of literature.” -Alexander Chee, author of Edinburgh and Queen of the Night

“A fascinating novel about people almost forgotten by history. The factual information alone would make this book a treasure, but with her impressive storytelling and empathy, Richardson gives us so much more.” - Ron Rash, New York Times bestselling author of One Foot in Eden and Serena

The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek -"Richardson's latest work is a hauntingly atmospheric love letter to the first mobile library in Kentucky and the fierce, brave packhorse librarians who wove their way from shack to shack dispensing literacy, hope, and - just as importantly - a compassionate human connection. Richardson's rendering of stark poverty against the ferocity of the human spirit is irresistible. Add to this the history of the unique and oppressed blue-skinned people of Kentucky, and you've got an un-put-downable work that holds real cultural significance." - Sara Gruen#1 NYT bestselling author, Water for Elephants

"This is Richardson's finest, as beautiful and honest as it is fierce and heart-wrenching, THE BOOK WOMAN OF TROUBLESOME CREEK explores the fascinating and unique blue-skinned people of Kentucky and the brave Packhorse librarians. A timeless and significant tale about poverty, intolerance and how books can bring hope and light to even the darkest pocket of history." -Karen Abbott, New York Times bestselling author of Liar Temptress Soldier Spy

“Emotionally resonant and unforgettable, THE BOOK WOMAN OF TROUBLESOME CREEK is a lush love letter to the redemptive power of books. ” -Joshilyn Jackson NYT bestselling author of The Almost Sisters and gods in Alabama                           

"The Sisters of Glass Ferry- Ms. Richardson’s strength is her ability to put readers in the scene and into the characters’ feelings. Her evocation of the sensory world is astonishing, as is her handling of the intangible aspects of environment: values, prejudices, and aspirations. She conjures a world that seems at once vividly present and broodingly haunted."- Southern Literary Review

The Sisters of Glass Ferry, "Highly Recommended." EDITOR'S CHOICE- Historical Novel Society

The Sisters of Glass Ferry, longlisted for the 2018 SIBA Southern Book Prize

The Sisters of Glass Ferry-Richardson's expert chronicling of events surrounding a tragic, mysterious death told from the perspective of twin sisters is a stunning, heart-stirring read. Top Pick! -RT Magazine

"Richardson's novel [The Sisters of Glass Ferry]is a southern gothic treat, as dark and complex as a good glass of whiskey. Fans of Mary Kubica and Emma Cline will enjoy this tender story of family legend, loss and redemption." -Booklist

The Sisters of Glass Ferry "Richardson's bourbon-infused saga is rich with drama and family intrigue." - Publishers Weekly

The Sisters of Glass Ferry, a TRIO 2018 Selection. Fall OKRA PICK, SIBA 2017

The Sisters of Glass Ferry  "An authentic Southern voice straight out of Kentucky, well graveled, rough with moonshine, and damn near irresistible.”— Joshilyn Jackson, NYT bestselling author of gods in Alabama and The Almost Sisters

“A great piece of work.” – NPR -Kentucky Affiliate -Bill Burton, Host, Morning Edition, WFPL on GODPRETTY IN THE TOBACCO FIELD

“A voice rich and authentic, steeped in the somber beauty that defines life in the South. Richardson knows this place well, and GodPretty sings of that honesty.” — David Joy, Where All Light Tends To Go

"Richardson writes Kentucky. Her stories aren’t just set in our state. They express in their very words the uniqueness of the place. She has truly found her voice and people love it."  -Derby Rotten Scoundrels Chapter, SinC (Sisters In Crime)